Past Exhibit

“Tranquil” by Pat Heydlauff

The Creative Soul: Art & the 9 Levels of Self

October 8, 2016 - January 10, 2017

Explore the many levels of Spirit, Soul and Self from which art originates as Life Force Arts Center presents the art exhibit and multiarts show The Creative Soul: Art & The 9 Levels of Self, running October 8, 2016 – January 10, 2017 at Life Force Arts Center, 1609 W. Belmont, Chicago IL 60657. Opening Reception is Saturday, October 8, 2016 from 7:30 – 10 PM. Closing

Reception is Tuesday, January 10, 2017 from 7 – 9 PM. Open Gallery Hours are Tuesdays and Thursdays 1:30 – 6:30 PM, and by appointment. Admission is free to the exhibit and Opening and Closing Receptions. Workshops, performances and other events related to the theme will be held as part of the show. For more information, please contact Joan Forest Mage, Artistic Director, 773-327-7224, 

Life Force Arts Center’s 2016 exhibits, The Creative Soul series, explore three different meanings of what art is and why it’s important: to awaken sentient experience, to create other worlds through art, play and ritual, and to communicate with the many levels of self. 

The Creative Soul: Art & The 9 Levels of Self explores the many levels of Spirit, Soul and Self from which art originates. Based in the theory and practice of Shamanic Expressive Art created by Joan Forest Mage, the 9 Levels of Self are the Integrated Self, Physical Body, Emotional Body, Spiritual Body, Sub-personalities, Imprints of Individuals, Group Energy, Spiritual Entities, and Life Force. These aspects of Self are a map from the innermost landscape to the farthest reaches of external worlds. Knowing and working with these Levels creates profound and powerful healing and artistic expression.

The exhibit features a wide variety of media including painting, photography, sculpture, mixed media, and installation. Life Force Arts Center Artistic Director Joan Forest Mage says, “It’s fascinating to see the interpretations artists have about the theme. At LFAC, our art exhibits create sacred space in which events become healing rituals: performances, concerts, poetry readings, workshops, lectures are all infused with transformative power to heal and enlighten those present.”

Life Force Arts Center (LFAC) is a community of healing-teaching artists who explore the connection of the arts, healing and spiritual practice. We focus on the arts as a common ground of human expression, where artists of diverse spiritual traditions present artistically excellent exhibits, events, and publications to awaken human potential, create spiritual transformation and connect audiences to the mystical dimension

Exhibiting Artists for The 9 Levels of Self

Steven Blaine Adams
Anna Applegate
Sharon Bechtold
Mary Burton
Milagro Quiroa Fernandez
Ladan Ghajar
Dorothy Graden

John Henderson
Kat Kidwell
Colleen Koziara
Jessica Kronika
Allegra Larson
Thom Lausch
Lorraine Moretti

Lisa Nomikos
Diana Rudaitis
Richard Selby
Szmeralda Shanel
Jessica Thompson
Sujata Tibrewala